The Midland Rockhounds are going for their fourth championship in a row and it begins tonight at Security Bank Ballpark.

According to NewsWest 9, the Rockhounds if they win this series will do what no other Midland baseball team has done before, win four championships in a row.

The current team has been in existence since 1972 when they were the Midland Cubs, a farm team of the Chicago Cubs, their affiliation changed in 1984 to the California Angels which prompted a new name to the Midland Angels.

Then in 1999 affiliation changed yet again to the Oakland A's which prompted the current name the Midland Rockhounds.

Now as far as championships are concerned, the Midland Cubs won one co-championship with the Lafayette Drillers in 1975, but in 2005 the Midland Rockhounds won their first sole Texas League championship, and then won again in 2009. Fast forward to 2014 when the Rockhounds won again and have won every year since.

Will this be the year that the Rockhounds make it four consecutive Texas League championships? We will see. If you want to see any of the games, get your tickets now. You can purchase them online or at the Security Bank Ballpark box office.



More From Mix 97.9 FM