Cyndi Lauper is taking a musical detour from her usual pop hits to release a collection of reimagined country covers later this year.

The album, titled Detour (get it?), sees Lauper put her own spin on a handful of country classics she grew up listening to, spanning the ‘40s, ‘50s and ‘60s.

“When I was a really young kid, country music was pop music,” she wrote on her official website. “So this is what we grew up listening to. These songs are part of some of my earliest memories.”

Lauper says Detour is a companion piece to her 2010 album Memphis Blues, where she collaborated with blues musicians like Jonny Lang, Allen Toussaint and the late B. B. King. She took a similar approach this time around, working with country legends Alison Krauss, Emmylou Harris, Vince Gill, Jewel and -- perhaps the most iconic of all -- Willie Nelson.

“I tried to be professional, but you know when you’re overwhelmed — when he came in, I almost cried,” Lauper told Entertainment Weekly in reference to meeting Nelson.

The 12-song album — which Lauper recorded with session players in Nashville — is set for a May 6 release date. Check out the full track list below.

1.) Funnel Of Love
2.) Detour - Featuring Emmylou Harris
3.) Misty Blue
4.) Walkin’ After Midnight
5.) Heartaches By The Number
6.) The End Of The World
7.) Night Life -- Featuring Willie Nelson
8.) Begging To You
9.) You’re The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly -- Featuring Vince Gill
10.) I Fall To Pieces
11.) I Want To Be A Cowboy’s Sweetheart -- Featuring Jewel
12.) Hard Candy Christmas -- Featuring Alison Krauss

10 Female Pop Songs About Self-Service Love

More From Mix 97.9 FM