If You Drive In Texas, You May Be Breaking One of These Laws
There are many things you can and can't do while driving in Texas and, I'm pretty sure, you don't know them all.
If you have a Texas driver license then you had to learn the Texas laws regarding driving to get it. At least the basics anyway. You're not required to become a full on attorney though so, many things on the books aren't exactly common knowledge.
The basics are simple. Red means stop, don't speed, parallel park no more than 18 inches from the curb, come to a complete stop at stop signs, keep your registration current, maintain insurance, etc, etc.
But, did you know ...
- You must set your parking brake every time you park? MUST. Not on hills or when you feel like it, every time. I'm not exactly sure how they suspect and/or determine guilt on this one.
- Your vehicle is not required to have a windshield but, windshield or not, it HAS to have windshield wipers. (Question: If you don't have wipers, where do they put the ticket?)
- You can't open your car door while operating your vehicle. Even if you're at a completely stop. Need to peek outside to make sure you parked within 18 inches of the curb? Turn the car off first.
- Brake checking is illegal. It's tempting to throw a scare into that jerk riding your bumper but if you're caught doing it, you're going to be $200 lighter and possibly jailed for up to 30 days. Maybe both.
I have no legal statute to quote on this one but, in El Paso, I'm pretty sure it's illegal to center your vehicle between the two white lines of a parking spot at Walmart.
I suspect this because more and more people are refusing to do it.