As the night of the 34th annual MTV Video Music Awards approaches and debate heats up over which of the nominees will be taking home the coveted Moonman, the VMA's have announced the first round of performers who will take the stage at the ceremony. Through a tweet and follow-up post, the news broke that Ed Sheeran, Fifth Harmony, Katy Perry, Lorde, The Weeknd, Miley Cyrus, Shawn Mendes and Thirty Seconds to Mars will perform.

Perry will also be hosting the event, the crown jewel of what has already been a big year for the singer. She released her latest album Witness on June 9, and despite lackluster critical acclaim, it still managed to snag a number one debut on the Billboard 200.

The VMA ceremony will be held and televised live on August 27 at 8 p.m. Eastern Time.

The Best Albums of 2017 (So Far)

More From Mix 97.9 FM