General Mills Voluntarily Recalling Cheerios That May Not Be Gluten-Free
General Mills said that it's recalling some Cheerios cereal products, because some boxes may be mislabeled gluten-free that contain wheat.
The company said yesterday that it was voluntarily recalling Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios products made at its facility in Lodi, California, due to an incident that allowed wheat flour to enter its gluten-free oat-based system.
A spokeswoman for General Mills said there have been reports of illness by consumers online and two illness complaints were reported directly to General Mills related to the affected products.
The company asks customers to check the "better if used by" code dates on Honey Nut Cheerios boxes for July 12-25, 2016 with plant code "LD" at the end. For example, "12JUL2016 LD" to "25Jul2016 LD."
For the (yellow boxes of original Cheerios) with the dates are July 14-17, 2016:
- 14JUL2016 LD
- 15JUL2016 LD
- 16JUL2016 LD
- 17JUL2016 LD
This voluntary recall affects products made in four days of the original Cheerios and 13 days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios.
General Mills which is transitioning five varieties of Cheerios to gluten-free, said other cereals produced at their other facilities are not affected.
Customers who want refunds or have questions should call General Mills consumer services at 800-775-8370.